New Hours! New Me?

Posted on

Change can be good. 

For the past couple of years I have been working twelve hour shifts 3 or 4 days a week. When we were given these hours I thought it would be easy. Friday off every week and only two Thursdays a month. No problem!!

But it didn’t work out that way. I have always been a sucker for long hours – often doing two jobs during the day and then gig promoting at night. But times change. I’ve changed. I am no longer a young guy and twelve hours of hard manual work takes it’s toll. I cannot remember the last time I didn’t have a bad back or when I’d come home from work and didn’t want to just crawl into bed. I’m often grumpy, my health suffers, my frame of mind suffers. I am constantly tired.

But only working three days?! That’s easy.

Yeah, that’s what I thought. I was contracted to work three or four twelve hour shifts a week (depending on the week) but I was often needed on the forth or fifth day as well due to work load and staff shortages. If I wasn’t working I spent the time slobbing on the sofa attempting to recover from the week. The weekend was taken up with catching up on housework, DIY jobs, seeing the family and other stuff that I couldn’t do during the week.

Don’t get me wrong. I am glad I that I have job, and I have a job that I enjoy. Alot of people don’t. But its blumming hard work.

But now I am going on a new shift pattern and I am thinking it’s going to be easier and I’ll be happier. Eight hours a day, five days a week. Perfect. I will have more free time, more time with the family. More time that I am not asleep. But what will I do with the spare time? I have a few ideas.

Spend more time with my wife and son
Keep up with the DIY jobs that seem to be piling up
Play more music
Write more.
See friends more.
Generally just do stuff …

I may even get the chance to update this site more often, work on various business ideas and make a bit of money on the side. See what i mean, I have always been a sucker for long hours, and probably always will.

My work/life balance seems to have been a bit heavy sided these past few years. Now its time for a change. I just hope that the change is a good one.

Let’s see if my new hours mean a new me.

Leave a Reply

